Author Topic: What you wish you knew...  (Read 1420 times)

dgcheese

What you wish you knew...
« on: October 29, 2010, 12:53:32 AM »
Hello everyone. I am relatively new to making cheese and am still trying to standardize my equipment. It seems like every time I want to try a new recipe, there are multiple pieces of equipment or ingredients that I'm lacking. To help remedy this, I've recently bought a small collection of different starters/cultures to have on hand.

However, I still have a very limited equipment, mainly a ricotta mold, a chevre mold, cheesecloth, stainless pot, and a thermometer.

My question to those more experienced is:

What do you feel are the essential pieces of equipment you had (or wished you had) when starting out that gives you maximum flexibility in being able to try different recipes? (including the small things like mats to rest the cheese on, types/sizes of basic molds, etc).

Thank you so much. David

linuxboy

Re: What you wish you knew...
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2010, 01:03:51 AM »
What cheeses are you making? Or to be more exact, what family of cheeses? Every family needs its own collection of cultures, molds, equipment, etc. Even sometimes the basics differ. Like you don't really need a pot for making chevre - you can let the milk warm up and clabber, or add culture, and then drain, and you can do this in a food-safe plastic container.

It's really tough to post general must-haves. But the one sure one is to try and have a dedicated and sanitary place for cheesemaking. Those who have gone commercial know what I mean; it's much easier to make cheese in the make room than in the kitchen.

Offline Boofer

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 344
  • Contemplating cheese
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2010, 04:14:09 AM »
Some of the things I have found useful are:
  • a good hygrometer (for measuring/monitoring humidity)
  • plastic matting (not bamboo mats - they foster unwanted mold infections) for draining/drying cheeses