Author Topic: Hello.. Im a newbie  (Read 888 times)

Tiffany

Hello.. Im a newbie
« on: October 31, 2010, 02:06:17 AM »
Hello to everyone!
My name is Tiffany.. I am new to your forum.  I am a 43 yo mother of 3, married for 23 years and live on a small farm.  We are quite self sufficient, growing our own garden.  As well as chickens, sheep, llama/alpaca and a Jersey names Clarice. 
We offer Cow shares and alot of milk goes to share holders in a week, however I find I am still buried in milk on a daily basis.  I have been making butter and skimming cream for people.  BUT STILL.. too much milk.  So  this would obviouisly bring me to making cheese.  I have dabbled in it some when we had milk goats.  I currently have a small THIN wheel of Gouda aging, but again.. YEP  more milk!  so tomorrow I hope to start more cheese.  I think I will stick to the Gouda until I get it good.  lol.. Im not sure my Gouda is so Gooda..
My biggest issue is aging.  I dont have a proper area for it.  and knowing the different cultures.  so many meso and such..
so I joined this forum to hopefully get some insite, tips, clues and HELP  :o  when I need it. 
I look forward to chatting and reading about CHEESE!
Tiffany
Dimondale, Michiga

Mondequay

Re: Hello.. Im a newbie
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2010, 02:14:08 AM »
Welcome, Tiffany, sounds like you have a nice thing going. Good idea to stick with the gouda for a while. I love making washed curd cheeses and have a cave full of gouda and havarti.

You've found the best forum, your questions will be answered here.
Christine

susanky

« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2010, 11:46:52 AM »