Author Topic: Hello from Minnesota  (Read 2308 times)

msandlie

Hello from Minnesota
« on: November 08, 2010, 06:32:17 PM »
Hello, I'm pretty new with making cheese.  Right now i'm using the pamphlet from the leeners.com deluxe cheese making kit to make farmers cheddar.  I also have a book with around 74 recipes and I see a farmers cheddar recipe in there but it only calls for 2 gallons of milk instead of the 3 that are required on the pamphlet.

So I guess my question i have is..  If i wanted to double the milk used to make a 4 pound wheel instead of a 2 pound, is it safe to simple double all ingredients including starters, and so on?  Would this change cook times, press times or anything of the sort? or is it easier than I'm thinking?  My logic tells me i could double everything without having to change temp, press time or anything but please let me know either way.   

Another question I have is, is it easy to make your own cheese wax? maybe a mixture that works well to avoid cracking?  I buy it from Leeners.com but wanted to know if this was something easy to do.

I couldn't find where else i could ask some basic questions.  All the topics in the forum seem pretty specific.

Thank You

Cheese Head

Re: Hello from Minnesota
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2010, 12:01:15 AM »
Welcome msandlie!

Recipes are scalable, my thoughts as follows:
  • Ingredients double
  • Times to warm your milk will vary depending on your heating method.
  • For pressed cheese pressures or weights it gets murkier, most recipes do not have exact numbers and there are several threads discussing this topic, in general if you double your amount, then yes you should scale up the weight, I'd day by ~50%, but if you just make a taller cheese then use the same weight. That said pressing weight comes from experience more than a recipe. In fact you will rapidly find that recipes are just the starting guideline.
  • Pressed time should IMHO not change.