Author Topic: New Cheese Maker - General Questions  (Read 5044 times)

yeri

New Cheese Maker - General Questions
« on: November 14, 2010, 10:18:47 AM »
Hello cheese maker. I'm new and i never take a cheese making class because i can not find any of that kind of class at my country, so i really blank About cheese making, so i hope you guys can help me about this silly problem of mine, i hope i can try to make my first cjeese soon, guys at my home i only have 1 refrigerator And this refrigerator is already used to store vegetable and other stuff also, can i just put cheese to aged mixed up with my refrigerator? Or i will need special refrigerator just for my cheese?

susanky

Re: New Cheese Maker - General Questions
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2010, 01:20:32 PM »
I am also new to cheesemaking but can at least get you started with this.  Your regular refrigerator is too cold to properly age cheese.  Some say that if you must can find a drawer that stays a little warmer than the rest of the refrigerator but it is not ideal.  So most have a dedicated space and keep it 50-55 degrees.  This can be done with the help of an external thermostat that you plug the refrigerator into, like this one:
http://www.amazon.com/KegWorks-Freezer-Temperature-Controller/dp/B0002EAL58/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1289740725&sr=8-1

Humidity is also an issue.  That is a problem I have not yet solved so we will have to wait for others to chime in.  You can do a search or look under the section on 'cheese cave' and you will find lots of information.
Susan

Cheese Head

« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2010, 01:51:36 PM »
Hi Yeri

From your other post I see that you are located in Indonesia, great country.

Using a fridge as a "Cheese Cave" for aging cheeses is very common, in fact we have a Board just for Cheese Caves, filled with ideas.