Author Topic: Several Beginners Questions  (Read 3886 times)

dalyn

Several Beginners Questions
« on: November 14, 2010, 04:11:32 PM »
Hello all! i'm new to cheese making and have fallen in love with the challenges it presents. I live in Vancouver Canada. I have been "lurking" as somebody called it on here for around 2 weeks, gleaning as much info as i could about varied problems i was having. i have found many excellent posts, and in the end think i have solved my problems. i do however have a few questions that i'd love some incite on...
First some history on what i've been doing. Started out making Mozzarella with citric acid and Junket rennet. 1st batch with store bought organic homogenized goats milk? FAIL. Next two batches with normal store bought homo milk worked well (though never got that perfect clean break). Finally my Calcium Chloride arrived in the mail and I thought this would make all the difference! Next I tried a slightly different Mozzarella recipe that involved stirring the rennet in for around 5 minutes - FAIL. The next day I tried AGAIN but this time a Gouda recipe (that also required 5 minutes of rennet stirring) and let the rennet sit for over 2 hours - FAIL. Both times I was left with a very sour yogurt like substance. So you can imagine my frustration by this point. After doing multiple searches on this site I came to several conclusions - things I was changing for my next attempt.

I bought 2% PASTEURIZED milk, fresh CULTURED buttermilk (used as soon as it came to room temp. didn't wait for it to 'ripen' and get thick), finally found liquid animal rennet here in Vancouver, diluted my calcium and rennet in bottled Dasani water (in case the minimal chlorine we have in Vancouver tap water was ruining something) and followed the Gouda recipe from this site. Well what do you know? it all worked perfectly. Buttermilk sat in milk for 15 minutes and then stirred rennet for 1 minute. Beautiful clean break within 40 minutes!