Author Topic: Aging - At 59F / 15C In Basement  (Read 1942 times)

Windflower

Aging - At 59F / 15C In Basement
« on: November 15, 2010, 04:35:29 AM »
Hi everyone,

I'm a novice cheese-maker. (This almost sounds like the start of a 12 step program... hmmm)

Anyway, I've been making soft cheeses for a couple of years and just started making hard cheeses. I built my own cheese press and have my second batch of farmhouse cheddar pressing as I type.  ;D I'll have to post pictures of my press in a different section.

I have a large basement closet. I closed the door and stuck a thermometer in the room in a plastic container. The temp is currently 59 degrees. If I put my cheese in a sealed container, is this cold enough to work as a cave for my farmhouse cheddar or am I flirting with a temp that's too high?

Thanks for all of the advice that I've already taken and thanks in advance for your responses.
Windflower

linuxboy

Re: Aging - At 59F / 15C In Basement
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2010, 04:50:33 AM »
It will age very quickly. You risk some off flavors with temps that high.

Commercial cheddar is usually aged at 40-45F. Some even a touch lower.

zenith1

« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2010, 02:13:45 PM »
Hey Windflower- my wife was just looking over my shoulder while I was reading your post and she agrees with you-very witty the start of a twelve step program.

Windflower

« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2010, 05:54:09 PM »
I have a mini fridge on the way. Thanks for the information!

zenith1

« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2010, 02:17:13 PM »
The mini fridge will solve your temp issues. That leaves the humidity issue that you can side step with waxing or vacuum bagging(once they have dried enough).

Windflower

« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2010, 07:18:09 PM »
The mini fridge will solve your temp issues. That leaves the humidity issue that you can side step with waxing or vacuum bagging(once they have dried enough).