Author Topic: Just made my first hard cheese! (Cheddar)  (Read 1943 times)

moodock

Just made my first hard cheese! (Cheddar)
« on: November 15, 2010, 11:48:36 PM »
Hi everyone! I'm new here, and just recently made my first cheese press. I have made some really basic fresh cheeses before, but never attempted a hard cheese. Well, I had some free time this weekend and decided to make cheddar. I was really worried I was going to screw it up, but I think everything went well. The wheel looks good to me, but then again, I am new to this. Today is the second day on the mat, and so far no cracks.

Before I made the cheese, I read many threads about problems and also recipes, heating protocols, etc. I pressed the cheese at 2 PSI for 15 minutes, 5 PSI for 30 minutes, 8 PSI for 2 hours, and 10 PSI for 24 hours. It is also dry to the touch now, so I am guessing tomorrow night the wheel will be heading off the the cave to age.

Let me know what you think of how the wheel turned out. Thanks!

Jason M

Re: Just made my first hard cheese! (Cheddar)
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2010, 12:06:39 AM »
moodock,

Nice looking cheese!  I'm new to this too and I'm on my second wheel (Swiss).  Are you going to brine or wax?

moodock

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2010, 12:41:13 AM »
Thanks! I plan to wax this cheese, but I want to make sure that the surface is very well dried to prevent mold from forming underneath the wax. I was also thinking to rubbing the outer layer with a towel dampened with vinegar a few hours before waxing to kill any mold spores on the surface.

Jason M

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2010, 01:09:20 AM »