Author Topic: MUSHROOMS  (Read 2381 times)

dthelmers

MUSHROOMS
« on: December 22, 2010, 02:04:33 PM »
Anyone on the forum growing mushrooms? I see that we generally do a lot of other activities from brewing to baking, and it wouldn't surprise me if some of you grow your own mushrooms. I'd like to give it a try, but I don't know what I don't know, and would appreciate advice.
Dave in CT

linuxboy

Re: MUSHROOMS
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2010, 04:54:31 PM »
Do you want to get serious about it and do your own propagation and inoculation, or just buy ready to grow logs?

In the easiest approach, you can buy a kit... it's fairly straightforward, has instructions.

dthelmers

« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2010, 04:58:24 PM »
Ideally, I'd like to keep it ongoing to have a ready supply. Is a kit the best way to start?
Dave in CT

susanky

« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2010, 12:58:56 AM »
I was planning the same thing this spring!   ... though I have no experience.  I understand it is best to use a freshly cut tree.  I have my eye on an oak.  Plan to cut some pieces in Feb and drill the holes and start them this spring.  Keep us posted on your progress!
Susan

linuxboy

« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2010, 01:17:25 AM »
My question was more about how much stuff you want to buy and how much time you want to spend. Because you can get really into mushrooming and propagate your own spores, and keep mushroom cultures, and replicate them, and all that.

Or you can buy kits, put them into logs, and harvest for 2-4 years and then buy another kit. Just depends on how much you want to grow and the time vs convenience factor.

If you're starting out, a kit is a good way to start. There's a supply shop here in Tacoma or Olympia that's rather popular, don't recall the name. They sell kits for $40 or so.

susanky

« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2010, 01:21:10 AM »