Author Topic: Coagulated, Rennet, Cow, Organic UP - Soft Curd  (Read 2561 times)

aspelin

Coagulated, Rennet, Cow, Organic UP - Soft Curd
« on: December 23, 2010, 08:59:41 PM »
I'm new to cheesemaking and on both my third and fourth (most recent) try, I get a runny curd that has to be thrown out.  I am using cultures and rennet from www.cheesemaking.com.  First two cheeses were Colby and Gouda (both Mesophilic) and they set up nicely.  Next I tried a French Tomme and today I tried a Bel Paese. I even doubled the rennet today.  Both of these are Thermophilic.  I am using the same brand/type milk for each recipe so I can get some consistency - Horizon Organic Whole Pasteurized and not Homogenized.

The common denominator seems to be the Thermophilic culture.  How would I know if it has expired?

I look forward to your replies.

zenith1

Re: Coagulated, Rennet, Cow, Organic UP - Soft Curd
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2010, 09:20:48 PM »
Hi Aspelin and thanks for your first post! Way too many possibilities to guess at without more information. If you post your entire process we can sure take a stab at getting you back on the right bath to successful cheese making.

cheezwhizz

« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2010, 01:04:19 AM »

Hi Aspelin,

Are you adding CaCl2 (calcium chloride) to your milk?
When i first started making cheese i had the same problem. Once i started to add the calcium i began to get great sets. I add at a rate of 1/2+ tsp per 4 gals milk and 1/2 tsp veal rennet....You may need to tweek the amounts for the milk your using. But this should give you a starting point......Good Luck !!

MrsKK

« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2010, 03:46:58 PM »
Are you sure your milk is not UHT pasturized?  I looked at that milk locally and seem to remember it being UHT, which would cause problems.

KosherBaker

« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2010, 03:42:23 AM »