Author Topic: Wine - Using In Cheese Making  (Read 7027 times)

jeremy102674

Wine - Using In Cheese Making
« on: December 24, 2010, 10:19:07 PM »
Hello. I am very new to cheese making, although i do make my own wine and beer. I actually have a very small vineyard where I grow my grapes. I was on a wine tasting trip with my wife and we had a hard cheese, maybe a white cheddar that was marbled with a very nice red wine. Any ideas on what it could have been or recipes on how to make it?

Cheese Head

Re: Wine - Using In Cheese Making
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2010, 11:11:30 PM »
Welcome, yep, probably either a Cahill's brand marbled cheddar cheese, their most common is porter, sage or wine, or a Derby cheese.

If you Search for both those words you will get several threads with some pictures to identify it and several recipes and peoples tricks and traps. But be warned, it is not a beginners cheese. Have fun!

jeremy102674

« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2010, 08:49:57 PM »
Thanks, I will try and do some research on those. I made a cheddar this weekend, just prior to pressing I soaked the curds in a cabernet for 10 minutes, drained and then pressed. It looks nice, although the color of the veinging is a light purple instead of a real deep purple.

dttorun

« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2010, 02:49:19 AM »
I use fortified vine after pressing. Soak for 24 hrs, dry it for 24 hrs and soak again for 24 hrs. You get pretty dark colour. It is not marbled but sure drunken.
Tan

jeremy102674

« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2010, 05:15:14 PM »
I gave a lot of thought to making a wine reduction to rinse my curds with but I wasn't sure what that would do to the flavor of the wine. I have noticed that the cheese smells "sweeter" than my other cheddars. Not sure why?

Jessica_H

« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2010, 07:13:23 PM »
I have been planing on doing this as well.