Author Topic: Hoop Size vs Milk Volume (& Starter Culture Formats Question)  (Read 1651 times)

sawhett

Hoop Size vs Milk Volume (& Starter Culture Formats Question)
« on: January 02, 2011, 02:34:30 PM »
Hi all,
Newbie here. Couple of questions; I am using 3 different books for reference, but none seem to go too deeply into moulds (forming) I want to attempt a Stilton using a 2 gal. recipe, but am slighly intimidated by the warnings I've read on being being prepared for quantity. What mould should I use? RC's book says a 2 lb., but that's not too specific.

Also, pertaining to cultures; what exactly is the difference between a "direct-set" culture and any other?

Thanks,
Bill

Cheese Head

Re: Hoop Size vs Milk Volume (& Starter Culture Formats Question)
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2011, 03:58:28 PM »
sawhett/Bill

Our Wiki: Milk Yields discusses final cheese weights from milk for different cheese types. For Stilton you'll probably need a mold/hoop about twice the size of curds before they fully drain and you press a little. Size ratings for manufactured molds are the final cheese weight. What are you going to use for your mold/hoop?

Direct Set or Direct Vat Inoculation is a term for a format of culture that you had directly to your vat (ie stockpot etc) of milk. these are commonly manufactured freeze dried or for some commercial cheese makers, frozen. Other types you have to incubate first. Some more info in our Wiki: Starter Cultures Function, but that article needs some work.

sawhett

« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2011, 04:47:37 PM »
Hi John,
That was my question; I'm not sure whichmold to use.

Cheese Head

« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2011, 01:28:04 AM »
OK, got it, sorry for delay, went with family & visitors to Galveston for the day.