Author Topic: Bad mold?  (Read 5452 times)

Offline Boofer

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 344
  • Contemplating cheese
Re: Bad mold?
« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2011, 06:59:34 AM »
By the way, I don't think you are a newbie anymore. You have been at it for a while, haven't you?
Two years, but I'm still learning. Better confidence now than January 2009 though. The rind concept and other techniques are sinking in a bit easier. The three cheeses I have that are developing their rinds actually seem under control. The cave is keeping them on an even keel.

Your English is just fine. I have no problem with it at all. You're right though, that was pretty early.

-Boofer-
Let's ferment something!
Bread, beer, wine, cheese...it's all good.

Dgarner23

« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2011, 07:45:59 PM »
Thankyou so much for your help iratherfly. My cheese looks like it's gonna make it. It is getting a proper rind with a little "good" mould starting. I'll post new pic in a couple of days

linuxboy

« Reply #17 on: January 17, 2011, 08:18:16 PM »
Dgarner, you didn't do anything exactly wrong, rather it is that my recipe is one that works for me, but I adjust it based on the situation. I do as irather said, and will dry out the rind enough before moving to the cave. Usually that takes a day, sometimes more. It's easier once you have a few batches done.

I also inoculate both milk and a light brine and manage the rinds very carefully to make sure I get the growth I want. Sometimes, I get unwanted molds from the ambient environment. It's a rather delicate balance, but you have good guidance here from iratherfly.

I strongly suggest for people just starting to use packaged mold and yeast cultures. They are pure and repeatable and consistent. It is very difficult to ensure good hygiene when using a piece of pureed rind as the start, and when you do, you have to adjust quickly and anticipate the itneractions of all the molds to craft the rind you want. Definitely not easy for a beginner.