Author Topic: Mozzarella - Too Soft & How To Salt  (Read 5881 times)

waterdalemama

Mozzarella - Too Soft & How To Salt
« on: January 22, 2011, 05:05:44 PM »
I have been lurking around here for a while, and have learned alot, but I have run into a problem with my mozz. that I haven't seen any answers for.

We have a cow and I use the milk raw. I am new at this.......have only been experimenting since Nov. but since we get about 40 gal./ week I have done LOTs of experimenting! I have tried several mozz. recipes (30 min. type and the kind without citric acid) and everytime it all looks like its turning out great.....nice clean curd break, stretches beautifully, etc. but then it never gets as hard as I think it should. And after its been in the fridge a few days its even softer than it started out......til it gets like velveeta or cheese whiz :o Very hard to shred cheese of that consistency!

I have been making asadero cheese also and this turns out better for me, but it still gets softer in the fridge.

One thing I have noticed is that when I salt it by using a cold water brine it gets much softer, so I don't do that. I usually stretch it in salted whey, and then put in ice water for a bit to cool. But I have a hard time getting it salty enough that way.

So I have 2 problems...how do I keep it from getting so soft and how do I get it salty enough?

Thanks for any help you might have for me!

linuxboy

Re: Mozzarella - Too Soft & How To Salt
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2011, 05:11:46 PM »
how do I keep it from getting so soft
You need to lower the moisture content of the cheese. This is done by cutting to smaller size curds, and/or by stirring longer before you drain the curds.
when I salt it by using a cold water brine it gets much softer
When you salt in water, you leach calcium from the cheese, which softens it.
I usually stretch it in salted whey, and then put in ice water for a bit to cool