Author Topic: Swiss - Salting Curds vs Brine Bathing & Effect On Propionic Bacteria  (Read 2347 times)

judyp

Hello:  I am making traditional Swiss from Ricki Carroll's book. 

My question is: the recipe calls for a brine bath.  Is it better to use a brine bath when possible or can I just salt the curds and have the cheese turn out just as good?

I'm using farm fresh goat's milk.  I am new to making cheese, as this will only be my 4th cheese.  I've yet to be able to taste any of my cheeses because they are not finished aging. 

Thanks,
Judy

Cheese Head

Re: Swiss - Salting Curds vs Brine Bathing & Effect On Propionic Bacteria
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2011, 12:12:35 AM »
I suppose that as long as you get the same amount of salt into the curds then the long term function of salt on the cheese is the same, see our Wiki: Salt's Function article.

But brining pressed cheese wheels initially dehydrates also the surface of the cheese resulting in a hard tough rind which is useful for helping to minimize surface mold growth, reduce moisture loss from within the cheese and if making big traditional (not hobby sized) wheels, for structural integrity. Thus I would go with the recipe and brine.

judyp

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2011, 12:52:52 AM »
Ok...I will brine.  Thanks for your reply!!  After reading your reply, I think Swiss is suppose to have a tougher/harder rind.  My understanding is that I don't need to heat my brine up, just soak the cheese and sprinkle some salt on the top side of the cheese that's out of the brine.  This will make 2 brined and 2 salted cheeses I've made.  Yum yum!!!  I can't wait to see how they turn out!! :D

Cheese Head

« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2011, 01:03:34 AM »
Welcome, correct, do not heat the brine, some info on brining temp is the Wiki: Brine Bathing Cheeses article.