Author Topic: “Thermophilic Farmhouse Cheddar”…oops!  (Read 5188 times)

Scarlet Runner

“Thermophilic Farmhouse Cheddar”…oops!
« on: January 22, 2011, 08:27:42 PM »
I’m new to cheesemaking and tried my second hard cheese ever last night: Ricki Carroll’s Farmhouse Cheddar. 

As I added my Direct Set Starter, I noticed it said “THERMOPHILIC” on the packet…. Ergghhh!!!  Grabbed the wrong one out of the freezer. In a frenzy, I let it ripen for 15 minutes at 90 deg while I figured out what to do.  I decided to add an additional half a packet of Mesophilic Direct Set Starter (what the recipe originally called for) and let it ripen for 35 more minutes (for a total ripening time of 50 minutes- 5 minutes longer than recipe called for).  I am hoping: (a) thermophilic bacteria will not produce significant activity at lower temps, (b) adding some of the Helveticus will just add extra flavor to my boring, sterile store bought milk, and (c) I’ll get lucky and not have too much acidity!  Note: I used 2 gall storebought whole milk + 1 pint cream.

(Ricki’s direct set starter packets are used for “up to 2 gallons milk”; Meso = s.lactis, s. cremoris; Thermo = s. thermophilus, d.s.lactis, helveticus).

So far the cheese looks fine (it's still pressing)... Anyone have any ideas about how they would have handled my Thermophilic blunder, or how it might turn out?   :)

Thanks!

« Last Edit: January 22, 2011, 08:36:37 PM by Scarlet Runner »

MrsKK

Re: “Thermophilic Farmhouse Cheddar”…oops!
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2011, 11:20:50 PM »
I think that it will be okay.  If you had used meso for a thermo cheese, it probably would have been more problematic.

I hope someone who actually knows the answer will chime in.

Sailor Con Queso

« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2011, 03:36:53 AM »