Author Topic: Greetings from London, England  (Read 1760 times)

berrys66

Greetings from London, England
« on: January 26, 2011, 12:16:59 PM »
I have been attempting cheese making for a few months now with varying degrees of success. Thanks to the wealth of information on these forums I now feel a lot more confident about what I am supposed to be doing! My big problem though is that we live in a small flat in central London and the opportunities for storage and aging of cheese is strictly limited, and obtaining the correct humidity and temperature is nigh-on impossible. What sort of results can I expect from waxing and then aging my cheese in our kitchen fridge?

Cheese Head

Re: Greetings from London, England
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2011, 12:42:24 PM »
Welcome!

From your comments on waxing it sounds like you like to make pressed hard aged cheeses. One negative to them over soft cheeses is the 2-5 times longer ripening/aging time and thus larger storage needs.

Waxing hard pressed cheeses is popular with some on this board, but more oil their rinds or vacuum bag as easier.

I think ideally a small fridge with an external thermostat would be best for you but if no room and using the kitchen fridge set to cold 2-5C then Rich here says Swiss's like that colder ripening temp and some reading I've done says that washed curd type cheeses also prefer the colder temp after waxing (see Ripening & Waxing sections).

Offline ArnaudForestier

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 45
  • Default personal text
    • Paul's FB
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2011, 01:43:34 PM »