Author Topic: Make Sheet  (Read 7474 times)

Ohaus82

Make Sheet
« on: January 26, 2011, 02:55:36 PM »
Sorry if this is in the wrong forum, this is my first time posting. Does anyone have an example of a make sheet they use? Im trying to design mine and want to make sure I dont miss anything. If this is already discussed somewhere else, can you share the link?

steampwr8

Re: Make Sheet
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2011, 03:58:32 PM »
I developed one that I use. It is Word although I would like someone who is fluent in excel to convert it.

I fill the form in by hand as I go. You'll notice it has steps for several kinds of cheeses. I note the steps for a particular variety and leave the rest blank.

tananaBrian

« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2011, 07:42:08 PM »
Nice batch log!  The only thing that I didn't see was pH measurements... do you just write them in alongside temperatures or something?

Brian

steampwr8

« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2011, 11:59:09 PM »
I have evolved over the last year since I started making cheese.

One goes from time and touch as in Ricki Carroll's book then realizing that there is more to this artful science so as to be able to repeat successes.

I have made the last several batches using flocculation methods. This gives a better repeatability.

The next jump is to pH. I haven't yet sprung for a meter. Then we'll add it to the log.

Cheese Head

« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2011, 12:33:54 AM »
Ohaus82 welcome.

If you Search the forum on "Records Journal" you'll find a few threads with other examples, me I record my makes in this forum with snaps, in the appropriate cheese type board.

Ohaus82

« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2011, 03:45:10 PM »
Thanks everyone! This definitely helps. Im going to start researching pH meters this weekend as well :)

steampwr8

« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2011, 06:07:00 PM »
Seems the most popular one used here by the veterans is the EXTEC PH110. Check out their site.