Author Topic: Zoo Med HygroTherm Humidity and Temperature Controller??  (Read 8745 times)

Jon in Bat Cave

Zoo Med HygroTherm Humidity and Temperature Controller??
« on: February 04, 2011, 05:43:12 AM »
Hi Folks,  This is my first time in the Forum.   I just got a U-Line 6.0 cu ft All Fridge.  I am figuring what route to go with getting temp and humidity in order and found this pet reptile product. 

http://www.amazon.com/Zoo-Med-HygroTherm-Temperature-Controller/dp/B0019IHK9Q/ref=lh_ni_t_

For $75 it seems like the way to go.  I have a few other options for humidifiers that include some that would add air.

http://www.amazon.com/Imagine-Gold-Tropicaire-Humidifier-Exchanger/dp/B000634980/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1296797552&sr=1-2

Does anyone have any experience, strength or hope with this route?
Thanks You Kindly
Jon

Offline Boofer

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 344
  • Contemplating cheese
Re: Zoo Med HygroTherm Humidity and Temperature Controller??
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2011, 06:41:00 AM »
Hi, Jon. Welcome to the forum.

That seems like overkill for a 6cf fridge/cave and that doesn't include the humidifier which you would have to buy. I'd say buy a Johnson controller to keep your cave at a set temperature bracket and see whether you actually need that much humidity control down the road.

-Boofer-
Let's ferment something!
Bread, beer, wine, cheese...it's all good.

Offline ArnaudForestier

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 45
  • Default personal text
    • Paul's FB
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2011, 09:37:07 AM »
I actually contacted ZooMed when thinking on options.  They felt their product wouldn't work for the intended purposes in cheesemaking,
- Paul

Jon in Bat Cave

« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2011, 01:29:57 AM »