Author Topic: My first large cheese with the new pressing weights......stirred curd cheddar  (Read 3594 times)

Likesspace

This morning I started a stirred curd cheddar with 4 gallons of whole millk. This is my first attempt at doing this cheese in a larger mold and using the new pressing weights that have been discussed.
The cheese is now in the mold (7-1/2” Tomme mold) and it is really looking good.
I did the first 10 minute press at 50#. I then moved to the next 10 minute press at 105# and am now doing a two hour press at 140#.
The next step will be the final 24 hour press at 175#, flipping at the 12 hour mark.
So far I am very pleased with the result. The cheese has knitted together really nicely (at least on the top and bottom) and the sides are starting to come together. I chose the tomme mold because it is a bit smaller in diameter than my 8” hard cheese mold and therefore requires less pressing weight.
Also, I wanted to have a thick wheel with this cheese. I was afraid that if I used the 8” mold on such a small curd the wheel thickness would have suffered.
Tomorrow evening I will snap a pic of this cheese when it comes out of the mold. I’m really hoping that this turns out since this is a totally new process, at least to me.
Next up will be either a 7 gallon batch of stirred curd cheddar or a 6 gallon batch of Colby/Jack, on Saturday. I’m still up in the air at this point but either one will go into my 8” mold.
The reason that I’m going to a much larger size is because my middle daughter has expressed an interest in making cheese. She has done one Mozzarella and now wants to try a hard cheese. I figure I can take care of one pot (the 3 gallon colby or the 4 gallon stirred curd) and she can watch over the other (either a three gallon stirred curd or a three gallon Monterey Jack). Whatever we decide on it should be a lot of fun.
I’ll be sure to snap some pics of whatever cheese I decide to make. Honestly, I’m looking forward to it.

Dave

wharris