Author Topic: Ricotta From Whey & Milk > Accidental Mozzarella!  (Read 3954 times)

cottagecheese

Ricotta From Whey & Milk > Accidental Mozzarella!
« on: February 09, 2011, 01:20:56 PM »
Hi, I'm new to cheesemaking and to this forum.  I have goats and have just started using their milk for cheese.

I was making a soft cheese with 3 litres raw milk, 5ml starter and 3 drops vegetarian rennet.  The milk failed for form a curd after 3 hours so I just added more rennet until a curd formed.

I strained it in cheesecloth and made my soft cheese with cracked black pepper and it tasted good, although it wasn't spreadable. 

My intention was to use the whey to make Ricotta so after leaving it at room temperature for 2 days I added 1 1/2 litres whole raw milk and about a teaspoon of white wine venigar.

Instead of the light fluffy curds floating to the surface which is what I was expecting, it formed a heavy curd that clumped together and sank to the bottom of the pan.  It reminded me of chewing gum so I quickly followed instructions for making mozzarella, I dunked it in boiling water then took it out and formed a ball and dropped it in cold water to harden.

I left it in brine overnight and today decided to use it on top of a pizza.  When I took it out of the brine it was quite hard and I had to slice it rather than pull it apart.  It reminded me of haloumi.  I didn't expect it to melt on top of the pizza but it did and tasted delicious.

I wasn't intending to make mozzarella just yet as it seemed too complicated for me and I'm not sure what I did wrong or right to get it accidentally.

Any comments would be most welcome.

Sorry for the long post.

Sharon

JeffHamm

Re: Ricotta From Whey & Milk > Accidental Mozzarella!
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2011, 07:25:45 PM »