Author Topic: mozzarella - curds don't spin  (Read 2617 times)

Offline SayCheese!

• Young Cheese
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Default personal text
mozzarella - curds don't spin
« on: February 09, 2011, 07:23:37 PM »
Hi Everyone,

I am delighted to find this forum!  I am a newbie from Milford Oh.  Yesterday was my first venture into making the 2 day version of mozzarella.  (Have made yogurt and Paneer in the past).  I was  following the Fankhauser instructions...I also used a youtube video (good pictures) called "Making Mozzarella from Milk" which was similar to Fankhousers recipe and process.

I used 1 gallon of non-homogenized low temp pasturized milk
cultured buttermilk from grocery store
malaka rennet (expiration Feb 11)

First I sterilized the pot and utensils
heated the milk to 85 F
Added 1/4 cup buttermilk
waited one hour
Added 20 drops of rennet mixed with 1/4 cup of reverse osmosis water
Stirred for about 20 seconds

It took 8 hours to get to clean break stage
I cut the curd
Heated it slowly to 97F stirring gently all the while heating
Left it covered at room temperature during the night

In the morning (10 am) I drained the whey and did a spin test
heated some reverse osmosis water to 185 F
added some curd and tried to fold it...no spin, it breaks up into little bits

Checked again at 2 PM, same thing

Hoping some experts here can give me some help as to what might be going on, and if it isn't going to spin ever, do I press it and will it ever become hard cheese?  (Or do I just have more Paneer here?? )

I don't have any way to measure the acidity...(I will have to remedy that! ;) )

Hope I am doing this posting ok...

Thanks, BJ

BJ

MrsKK

Re: mozzarella - curds don't spin
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2011, 10:40:21 PM »
The thing that jumps out at me is that you don't have any thermophilic culture in your cheese.  In looking at Fankhauser's Pasta Filata recipe, he doesn't include yogurt in this one and I'm not sure why...