Author Topic: Colby - Variables Affecting Flavour Profile  (Read 3799 times)

Farmers Wife

Colby - Variables Affecting Flavour Profile
« on: March 01, 2011, 04:54:09 PM »
I am fairly new to cheese making. I started making hard cheeses in Nov. My family loves to eat Colby cheese, and since we own and operate a dairy farm, I thought I would try making our own Colby. My problem is after I let it age for a least 2 months (because I use raw milk) the cheese seems to be very Sharp in flavor and the kids don't like it. My question is... What would be causing the cheese to taste so tangy?? And what can I try to make it more mild in flavor??

linuxboy

Re: Colby - Variables Affecting Flavour Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2011, 04:57:14 PM »
Colby is a high moisture cheese, and ages quickly at normal cave temps (55F). If you want it to have less flavor, pack it, and age at normal cheddar/colby temps (38F-40F). You can also stir longer to reduce the moisture content.

medomak

« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2011, 09:18:43 PM »
Sorry to jump in to your thread, but  I made a Colby about 5 weeks ago.  It is waxed and sitting at about 56 degrees.  I have two questions that arise from linuxboy's comments.

1) By "pack it", I'm assuming you mean wax it or vacuum seal?
2) You said "age at normal cheddar/colby temps (38F-40F)".  I'm aging higher than that, using as a guide two commonly referenced cheese books I (Ricki Carrol's and Debra Amrein-Boyes).  Would I get a better result by aging at a lower temp?

*Bonus question*  I'm getting the sense as I read more and more posts that using these books really just won't cut it if you are looking for consistency.  Flocculation times and ph markers are really where it's at if you are trying to duplicate results.  Am I on the right track here?

Thanks for your help.

Dave

tnbquilt

« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2011, 11:28:26 PM »