Author Topic: Gjetost Making - Fail!?  (Read 11204 times)

indychzgrl

Gjetost Making - Fail!?
« on: July 18, 2010, 04:02:45 PM »

I'm a newbie cheesemaker, turning out small batches with goat milk I get once a week.
So far, all of my curd cheeses have turned out either passable or way better than I ever expected I could do. 

Since I have all this leftover whey, thought I'd try making gjetost/mysost, using the instructions on Fankhauser's cheese page (essentially: boil down a gallon of whey slowly until it reaches fudgelike consistency; pour into cold buttered pan and whisk the heck out of it.  Refrigerate, and slice to use.)

While I believe I achieved the correct texture, the flavor makes it the foulest substance I have ever put in my mouth!  It has the pucker power of a really briney Kalamata olive and no other flavors to balance out the saltiness.  I was expecting more complexity...

I'm sure someone on this forum has eaten this cheese, and likes it. 
I'd never had it before, so I have nothing to compare it with.
What should it taste like?  Did I do it wrong, or have I just learned that I don't care for gjetost?

If it should be better, I'm more than willing to try it again.

linuxboy

Re: Gjetost Making - Fail!?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2010, 07:26:45 PM »
what type of whey did you use? Did it have salt? Because Gjetost is a sweet cheese, the sugars carmelize when you cook.

indychzgrl

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2010, 11:59:45 PM »
The whey was left over from making neufchatel and feta from fresh goat's milk, and both of them got salt only after draining off the whey.  (I had plenty of whey to brine my feta, so no chance that I got my wheys mixed up.)
They both turned out lovely, thank goodness.