Author Topic: Coagulation, Rennet, Tablets - No Clean Break  (Read 11033 times)

minni14

Coagulation, Rennet, Tablets - No Clean Break
« on: March 10, 2011, 03:44:24 AM »
Hello to everyone.  I am really, really stuck and I can use some help.  I am trying to make mozzarella from milk, following a recipe I have come across on the internet.  I am very new to the cheese making process and seem to have run into a bit of a bump I can't overcome.  Any help would be greatly appreciated and I am getting frustrated, and really craving some mozzarella :)

Here is the ingredients I am using:

1 gallon local milk, sadly pasteurized and homogenized (I live in a big city in a state where it is difficult to obtain raw milk, it would cost me about $30 in gas to get me a gallon)

1 1/4 teaspoons Geffen Brand Citric Acid dissolved into 1/2 cup of cool spring water

.78 g Ball Brand calcium chloride disolved into 1/4 cup of room temp spring water

1/2 tablet Junket Rennet disolved into 1/4 cup of cool spring water

Process I am following:

Add milk to sterilized double boiler pot.
Add calcium chloride to the milk and stir until well mixed.
Add citric acid with water to milk and mix.
Bring pot to 88 degrees F (am am using a digital thermometer and have tested it for accuracy)
remove pot from heat and add rennet mixture, stir for 1 min gently.
Leave for 2 hours to cool to room temp ( I should note that my room temp is 63 degrees F.  It snowed today where I live)

Problem:

I can't get a clean break! I cant get any break :(    The milk is separating a little, a small amount of whey is present on top of the "curd" and a little under the curd.  The Problem is the curd has the consistency of clumpy yoghurt!  I can't get it to firm up, or even separate completely.  The next step would be to cut the curds, but it is more like glop and cutting is not a real option.

Here is what I have done already: