Author Topic: Parmesan style probable failure... what to do?  (Read 5034 times)

Offline luvscritrs

• New Cheese
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Default personal text
Parmesan style probable failure... what to do?
« on: May 31, 2023, 02:31:03 AM »
Good evening!  I am new to cheesemaking so I have a LOT to learn.  I've made about 7 different recipes so far, Camembert, Swiss, Gouda etc.  When I use raw milk, it appears they turn out pretty well. (I've only opened one Camembert so far... I'm THAT new to this!)  Twice however, I didn't let my raw milk folks know I needed milk in time, so I've tried using store bought milk.  The Mustard and Ale cheese seemed to do reasonably well, but it did start cracking while drying.  I decided to fill the cracks with Amish butter and vac pack them to retain the moisture.  They feel more pliable now after just over a month of aging.  The PARM however.... UGH.  I decided to use store bought since I was supposed to use 2% anyway.  I used Gavin's recipe, and a Sous Vide set up so my temps were EXACT.  I did a 6 gallon batch.  Maybe I dried the curds out too much, or maybe I let it get too acidic before removing the curds since they took a little longer to come up to temp than I anticipated.  I poured whey through the mould and even poured some over the curds once they were in the mould to make sure everything was warm.  The result is quite strange really; I have a heavy dense cheese, but individual curds around the edges are crumbly making it rather hard to flip.  Since it was a mess to begin with I decided to try putting it back in the press and added more weight for another couple of hours.  This did improve it, but still, it's almost like the middle has knitted, but the sides have not!  (I'm using a high quality dutch press btw)  There isn't a chance in the word that I'll be able to maintain this cheese as there are too many crevices for molds, and I know I'm not supposed to vac pack this type, so are there ANY suggestions other than 'throw it ou