Author Topic: How to learn to age cheese?  (Read 183 times)

Offline blindahl

• New Cheese
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Default personal text
How to learn to age cheese?
« on: April 08, 2024, 06:19:13 PM »
I'm relatively new to cheese making, having received a mozzarella kit for Christmas a couple years ago. I've gotten pretty good at the basics, like mozzarella, milk ricotta, cheese curds, etc. Thing is, I'd really like to move on to aged cheese, like Swiss, cheddar, and the like. Want to do a good Brie at some point, but that's a different learning curve. :)

My question is this: I tend to learn iteratively, especially in the kitchen. I make something, see how it turned out, make changes, and make it again, until it's how I like it and consistent. Since most aged cheese are in the 3+ month range, how do I learn the craft in a more timely fashion? I'm currently getting 6-10 gallons a week of milk from a friend with an over-productive milk cow, and I'm getting tired of the same old thing every time - and I've got enough mozz in the freezer to last me several months. That said, I can't see making one or more two pound wheels of cheese a week without really feeling like I know what the results are going to be, and making just one and waiting several months to see the results isn't going to keep my attention very well.

How did you learn when you started out? What kinds of cheese did you make (and how much) while learning?

Offline MacGruff

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 23
  • Default personal text
Re: How to learn to age cheese?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2024, 11:48:33 AM »
You have quite the quandary there. That's a lot of milk to work through. I started years ago and am only getting as much milk as I need to do the cheeses I am interested in, but the process is exactly what you described: Make, age, taste, adjust and do again.