Author Topic: woo hoo! I'm a cheese making apprentice now!  (Read 8871 times)

fiddletree

woo hoo! I'm a cheese making apprentice now!
« on: March 14, 2011, 09:27:35 PM »
I feel like the luckiest girl in the world and I feel like this is the place to brag since no one else seems to get it...

Somehow I am now a cheese making apprentice!  I live in Valle d'Aosta, Italy, and friends of a friend own a great dairy farm at the top of the Alps (above 1600 meters!) where they have mostly goats, but a couple of cows, and they make the best goat cheeses in the region. I can come in whatever morning I want and learn to make cheese with them... good for them because they get free help, and good for me because I get to learn to make artisan cheeses! Today we made a lot of goat/cow and goat Tometta, as well as something else (Robiolo?) that I can't quite spell right.  It's a really fantastic opportunity and I am learning a lot :)

Apparently in the summer when the animals graze a lot, they don't even need to use any cultures since it is all there in the milk.  They also don't need to add extra bacteria to the milk/cheese because the cave (literally a cave, under a giant huge massive boulder) is teaming with the perfect strains for all of the cheeses they make.  They just put the slightly dried out fresh cheeses in the cave and they do their thing.  Cheese making heaven!

darius

Re: woo hoo! I'm a cheese making apprentice now!
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2011, 09:39:08 PM »
Whoooeee, what an opportunity!

zenith1

« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2011, 10:17:04 PM »
sounds like a dream

Offline Boofer

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 344
  • Contemplating cheese
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2011, 12:37:04 AM »
Wow, you ARE a lucky girl. Learn well. A lot of us would like to be in your shoes, I'm sure.

Good luck.

-Boofer-
Let's ferment something!
Bread, beer, wine, cheese...it's all good.

MrsKK

« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2011, 12:55:16 AM »
Huge congratulations!

Marta