Author Topic: Humidity (and temperature) question  (Read 4106 times)

CheeseyKnees

Humidity (and temperature) question
« on: March 17, 2011, 03:56:19 PM »
Hi guys, n00bie here, forgive me if in the wrong place.

Humidity - are you aiming for maximum humidity in your caves, or a percentage of that?  Do all cheese require the same humidity?

How important is temperature when making your cheese?  What role does it play with humidity?

How long are the cheeses kept in the cave?  Does this vary between cheeses?

It'd be great to have a few of these queries answered, as I am at a bit of a loss right now.
Many thanks.

CK

JeffHamm

Re: Humidity (and temperature) question
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2011, 07:38:59 PM »
Hi CheeseyKnees,

There are a lot of threads and discussions on how to age your cheeses.  However, keeping in mind I'm fairly new at this too, here's a very quick and incomplete set of answers just to help you get started. 

1) Maximum humidity would be 100%, and that's too much.  The appropriate level depends upon the kind of cheese you are aging, and if you are trying to develope a rind, etc.  Usually you want it at least 80%, but for some cheeses (those with B.Linens for example) I think above 90% is recommended (again, this can be very specific to what you're trying to get to grow for your rind).

2) temperature when making the cheese is very important.  Too hot and you could kill the culture.  Also, as you raise the temperature the curds expell more whey, giving you a drier cheese (not good if you're making camembert, or targeting a moist cheese).  The cultures grow at different rates at different temperatures, which changes the acidity profile of the milk, which in turn will influence your final cheese.

3) How long you age your cheese is how long you age your cheese.  Some can be eaten quite young others are designed for long aging.  But think of cheddar, you can have it mild (young) or age it for many years.