Author Topic: re-using brine  (Read 2901 times)

Offline steffb503

  • Catskill Mts, NY State, USA
  • Mature Cheese
  • ****
  • Posts: 499
  • Cheeses: 9
    • M & S Farm
re-using brine
« on: March 19, 2011, 05:40:18 AM »
At what temp should the brine be stored?


Guests, join the CheeseForum.org community to remove this ad.


Offline george (MaryJ)

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Rhode Island
  • Posts: 521
  • Cheeses: 22
  • Home of the Velcro Ocelot
Re: re-using brine
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2011, 05:57:07 AM »
Regular fridge temp, I think.
If I have to be a grownup, can I at least be telekinetic too?

Offline Tomer1

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Israel
  • Posts: 1,669
  • Cheeses: 33
  • Default personal text
Re: re-using brine
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2011, 05:59:36 AM »
You can put it in the freezer, it wont freeze since the salt content is so high and you will be minimizing bacterial activity to 0 so no funky odor or flavour development can accure.
Amatuar winemaker,baker, cook and musician
not in any particular order.

Offline steffb503

  • Catskill Mts, NY State, USA
  • Mature Cheese
  • ****
  • Posts: 499
  • Cheeses: 9
    • M & S Farm
Re: re-using brine
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2011, 11:53:26 AM »
thanks

Offline Oude Kaas

  • Cheese made in Brooklyn
  • Mature Cheese
  • ****
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY
  • Posts: 117
  • Cheeses: 10
Re: re-using brine
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2011, 08:30:16 PM »
Fridge temp is fine.
Most cheesemakers I know keep it in the aging room due to the volume.


Guests, join the CheeseForum.org community to remove this ad.


Offline smilingcalico

  • A picture is worth a thousand words; but a cheese should leave you speechless.
  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Northern California
  • Posts: 674
  • Cheeses: 26
    • Artisan Cheesemaker
Re: re-using brine
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2011, 01:39:59 AM »
Oude is right.  This is only the second dairy I've worked at, but both have kept the brine in the ageing room.
www.brianackerly.com
Website of an Artisan Cheesemaker.

Offline Mix spanish cheese

  • Medium Cheese
  • ***
  • Location: Andalucia- costa del sol
  • Posts: 67
  • Cheeses: 1
  • The last of the class
Re: re-using brine
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2011, 10:50:11 AM »
And what temp u have to sterilize it? and how many time?

Offline MrsKK

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • Posts: 1,875
  • Cheeses: 61
  • Default personal text
Re: re-using brine
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2011, 10:01:42 AM »
You shouldn't have to sterilize your brine, just strain it after use and keep in a clean container in the refrigerator.  I've been making brined cheeses since July of this year (not that long, I realize) and have used the same brine throughout.

Offline Mix spanish cheese

  • Medium Cheese
  • ***
  • Location: Andalucia- costa del sol
  • Posts: 67
  • Cheeses: 1
  • The last of the class
Re: re-using brine
« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2011, 06:53:12 PM »
Thank u very much MrsKK

Offline MrsKK

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • Posts: 1,875
  • Cheeses: 61
  • Default personal text
Re: re-using brine
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2011, 07:30:54 AM »
You are very welcome!


Guests, join the CheeseForum.org community to remove this ad.


Offline Boofer

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Parkland, Washington
  • Posts: 4,226
  • Cheeses: 204
  • Contemplating cheese
Re: re-using brine
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2011, 11:09:27 AM »
I've been making brined cheeses since July of this year (not that long, I realize) and have used the same brine throughout.
But you are adding salt and/or adjusting the calcium level with added CACL, correct? As the brine gets used, the cheese extracts salt and calcium which must be kept optimal.

-Boofer-
Let's ferment something!
Bread, beer, wine, cheese...it's all good.

Offline MrsKK

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • Posts: 1,875
  • Cheeses: 61
  • Default personal text
Re: re-using brine
« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2011, 07:53:08 AM »
Yes, I add salt at the time that I strain the whey after brining the cheese.  That way it is ready to go for the next one, right out of the fridge.  I also figure that the salt will dissolve better in the room temp brine than it would fresh out of the fridge.

I've never added CaCl to it.  My cheese are all raw milk, so I don't use CaCl, unless making for a class with pasturized milk.

Offline Boofer

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Parkland, Washington
  • Posts: 4,226
  • Cheeses: 204
  • Contemplating cheese
Re: re-using brine
« Reply #12 on: November 29, 2011, 12:21:09 PM »
I figured you were clued in, Karen.  ;)  I just wanted Mix to know that needed to be considered.

-Boofer-
Let's ferment something!
Bread, beer, wine, cheese...it's all good.

Offline FRANCOIS

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
  • Cheeses: 71
  • Default personal text
Re: re-using brine
« Reply #13 on: November 29, 2011, 10:32:13 PM »
You should skim, strain and periodically boil your brine.  If you don't you can get salt tolerant yeasts living in it and, worst of all, nasties like listeria living on the fat that forms a scum layer.  Commercially brine is usually chlorine dosed, constantly circulated and filtered.  I look after one factory that can't service brine like that and I make them dump it once a month.

Offline Cloversmilker

  • Mature Cheese
  • ****
  • Location: Willamette Valley, Oregon
  • Posts: 253
  • Cheeses: 16
  • Default personal text
Re: re-using brine
« Reply #14 on: November 30, 2011, 09:00:00 PM »
How often should the home cheesemaker boil the brine?

(I store in frig and use once or twice a week, adding salt to saturation level.)