Author Topic: Goats Milk Cheese Failures - What am I doing wrong?  (Read 4926 times)

Gouldie

Goats Milk Cheese Failures - What am I doing wrong?
« on: April 05, 2011, 05:08:30 AM »
Hi Everyone

I am very new to this whole cheesemaking game - made my first camembert a bit over a week ago which is progressing well - I would call it a smash hit!   Also made some blue and another camembert which have gone according to plan so far - in particular with respect to the curds forming, being cut and stirred and hooped etc.

However, I've had 3 attempts at making goats milk cheese and all 3 have failed - the curds did not form - even after following the instructions as to temperature and additives and sitting/waiting time (around 24 hours) for the curds to set.

I'm trying to work out what I'm doing wrong.  Could it be that I'm not adding enough calcium chloride?  The milk I am using is bought from the supermarket (Coles) and is pasteurised.

The 3 recipes I've tried - 2 are from the 200 Easy Homemade Cheese Recipes book - Goats Brie and Pouligny-St-Pierre, and the 3rd is from Ricki Carroll's book - Saint Maure.

Interestingly - I visited a friend today and she had a recipe for Goat Brie, and the recipe does not call for cutting of the curd -- wait for it to set then ladle straight to the container - could this be an option, or is it a requirement??

Hoping to hear some sage advice who has had great success with their goat cheeses.

Gouldie
:)

smilingcalico

Re: Goats Milk Cheese Failures - What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 05:22:37 AM »