Author Topic: Cheddar - Poor Curd Knitting During Pressing  (Read 3679 times)

MarineGrunt

Cheddar - Poor Curd Knitting During Pressing
« on: April 07, 2011, 01:04:29 AM »
Hi all. I'm new to cheese making and very new to cheddar. I just made my first two batches a few days ago. I followed the recipe and times to a "T". Everything seemed to go pretty good except the final pressed cheese. I don't feel it turned out all that bad but there are one or two spots where the curds didn't get completely pressed together. For the most part they did though. The first batch I pressed exactly how the reciple said. The second batch I stepped up the last step of the pressing from 50lbs. to 75lbs. It seemed to make a difference but that is the one that has one or two spots where the curds didn't completely press. The first one had more. There's not a huge gap but you can see a gap nonetheless. I'd say it looks more like a small split but you can see the outline of the cut curd so I know it's not a split.

So.....anyone know if it was something I did or do I need to add even more weight next time?

From browsing the forum I can tell I have so much to learn! But boy am I having fun! I'm glad that there's a group of people willing to help others out.

Thanks in advance!

susanky

Re: Cheddar - Poor Curd Knitting During Pressing
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2011, 10:38:39 AM »
That doesn't sound like much pressing weight for a cheddar.  How big is your mold?
Susan

MarineGrunt

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2011, 11:11:23 AM »
I used two, 4" molds each on there own press. I used the Traditional Cheddar recipe out of the book "Home Cheese Making by Ricki Carroll. It said to press with 10 lbs for 15 minutes, 40 lbs for 12 hours and then 50 lbs for 24 hours.

What do most Cheddars recommend for pressing weights?

Thanks for the reply!

lwybrant

« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2011, 03:52:15 AM »