Author Topic: "Bavarian Munster" from Kaeskuche, Germany?  (Read 3355 times)

tananaBrian

"Bavarian Munster" from Kaeskuche, Germany?
« on: March 23, 2011, 06:28:16 AM »
Lover of stinky cheeses that I am, I've never tried a Munster before.  I picked up some "Bavarian Munster" from Kaeskuche, Germany today and ...oh my!  First hint on the way home was my daughter saying "The back seat stinks!".  I thought "Ah ...she's just sensitive.  Stinky cheeses are good!"  And then tonight, we opened it up ...oooh my!!  This one surpasses my limit I think ...hmmmm.  Not sure how this stuff is made, but it's the first cheese that I've tried that I really didn't care for.  Well, I haven't tried any munster  before, so for all I know, this is normal?  Anyone else try this stuff?  I think I'll go back to my Taleggio and Stilton...

Brian

george

Re: "Bavarian Munster" from Kaeskuche, Germany?
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2011, 09:15:55 AM »
Maybe it was a little extra-special ripe? 

Muenster I've had hasn't been so nasty - especially if you normally like stanky cheeses.  Of course I haven't had any "real" muenster in years - been looking for some but haven't found it yet (hey, I was happy to get the Raclette last week!).  I want something to compare to when I get the courage to try making it again - my first attempts went south fairly quickly, but at least I got some great cheese to melt over taters out of it!

Sorry I can't help more than that - I'm no good describing flavors either - except to say "it tastes like [something completely different]".  Now, if you get a cheese that tastes like chicken, there might be cause for concern.

tananaBrian

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2011, 05:16:11 PM »