Author Topic: I need tech help on a camembert quandary.  (Read 2767 times)

arkc

I need tech help on a camembert quandary.
« on: May 12, 2011, 07:23:15 PM »
I have been making cams for several years using the same recipe and raw (6 days
old) from the same dairy.  The recipe was Margaret Morris and very simple.  There
was no PH meter needed.  My friends and family loved it.  But I decided to use another dairy that had fresher milk (one day old) and only Jersey.   

Using my old recipe,  the cheeses were over-ripe and totally runny in 18 days.

So I decided to use the cam recipe on the Peter Dixon web-site. I am attaching
a brief recipe outline and my comments after each section. 

I hope one of you on the forum can help. 

Tomer1

Re: I need tech help on a camembert quandary.
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2011, 09:25:11 PM »
Yoav suggests doing a pre drain of the curds.
I think you should try it.

arkc

« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2011, 12:00:14 AM »
THANKS,  I'LL TRY IT NEXT WEEK AND LET YOU KNOW!

ARKC

arkc

Re: I've attached a pic
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2011, 02:28:08 AM »
Perhaps I was't very clear....What I wanted to know was why this milk behaved so
differently than the other. 

The cheese drained all day at 68 degrees and is now less than 'monumental'.  It has also quit draining.  But why the different behavior?

Does anyone have an answer?

arkc

arkc

« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2011, 02:34:15 AM »
P.S.  I realize that this is not the typical Cam shape.  If this recipe turns out to be wonderful, , ,
well,  it could, , , I won't fill the molds to the top.

arkc

iratherfly

« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2011, 05:19:37 AM »
Well, first off, Jersey milk is far richer in minerals, fat and proteins than most other breeds and this means different coagulation and set time and different firmness to the milk.