Author Topic: Stabilized Bloomy Rind  (Read 2631 times)

arkc

Stabilized Bloomy Rind
« on: May 28, 2011, 05:46:06 PM »
I had complained to PD that using my 'old' recipes with my 'new' Jersey milk had resulted
in Bloomies that were over ripe in 18 day.  (They had lasted 4-5 weeks with other milk.)
He suggested using TA50.  Which I did on April 27.  I just opened this cheese this
morning.  The flavor is not as deep my prior Cams and there is just a slight bitter
after taste.  I've never used TA50 before.  Does anyone out there know if this can be
the cause of the bitterness?  And would that have anything to do with the lack of flavor?

If no one knows, I guess I'll find out in a week or so.  I will be opening another Bloomie
done a week after this one, but without TA50.  To make it last a little longer, I raised
the temp from 86 to 92 and cut instead of ladeling.  So far (it was made May 4) it is not
quite ready so I know that these 2 changes at least resulted in a longer aging cheese.

annie

linuxboy

Re: Stabilized Bloomy Rind
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2011, 06:06:56 PM »
Does anyone out there know if this can be
the cause of the bitterness? 
You used only TA? No MM with it or no 4001? If so, yes, can be a cause.

And would that have anything to do with the lack of flavor?
Yes, as does your terminal pH before salting.

So far (it was made May 4) it is not
quite ready so I know that these 2 changes at least resulted in a longer aging cheese.
Yes, you lowered the moisture content, it will age slower.

arkc

« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2011, 06:28:56 PM »
Of course I used a messo.  I used mm100 in conjunction with TA50. (Dixon's suggestion)

I didn't have a meter then.  But I let them drain FULLY before salting...And I didn't say it
wasn't salty enough, it was.... It just didn't have enough flavor.

So I take it that using TA50 doesn't add to bitterness.  Everything else was the same as
I do every time.  I'm stumped.

Thanks for trying,

annie

linuxboy