Author Topic: Short (<3 Weeks) Aged Cheese Recommendations?  (Read 4293 times)

korsul

Short (<3 Weeks) Aged Cheese Recommendations?
« on: June 30, 2011, 11:12:35 PM »
Hi. I'm just trying to find a recipe for a very shortly aged cheese; I'd like something that ages for less than or equal to 3 weeks if possible. I'm going to be moving then and the process is going to be too complicated for me to have to care for some aging cheese as well. I'm an absolute beginner. So far I've made some Feta and failed to make Mozzarella, and that's it.

dthelmers

Re: Short (<3 Weeks) Aged Cheese Recommendations?
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2011, 02:19:41 AM »
First, please look at the Fresh Curd recipe at the Washington Cheese Guild site, wacheese.com. This is where I got the idea for this, so if you like it, thank Linuxboy, and if you don't, blame me.

Here's the make:
FAST RIPENING PRESSED CHEESE

4 gallons of whole milk
¼ teaspoon MM100 or Flora Danica
¼ teaspoon of Streptococcus Thermophilus
1 teaspoon of liquid calf rennet dissolved in 1/2 cup of cold filtered water
1 teaspoon of calcium chloride (if using pasteurized homogenized milk)
1/8 teaspoon of lipase (optional; it will have a sharper taste with this, but you don't need it)
2 tablespoons of kosher salt

Heat the milk to 76ºF and add MM100
Let ripen to pH 6.4, about 3 hours. It will smell buttery.
Increase temperature to 92ºF and add S. Thermophilus. Let ripen for a half hour.
Dilute the rennet and stir in for 30 seconds, about fifteen up and down strokes with a strainer.
If using the flocculation method, the multiplier is 3. Otherwise, check for a clean break at 30 minutes.
Cut the curd into 3/8” cubes and let rest for 10 minutes.
Heat to 102ºF taking 20 minutes to do it, stirring very gently at first, then more thoroughly as the curd hardens and shrinks.
Target drain is pH 6.0. If you're not using a pH meter, this is when the curd really wants to mat and feels more solid, like well cooked scrambled eggs.