Author Topic: Going for Gooey and Sinful  (Read 17655 times)

Offline Boofer

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 344
  • Contemplating cheese
Going for Gooey and Sinful
« on: July 01, 2011, 03:44:02 PM »
June 29:

This is my first try at Reblochon. I was inspired by the French video showing their process as well as all the other folks who have passed by here previously. Thank you all.

So here we go.

2 gallons Dungeness Valley raw milk
1 gallon Cozy Valley Creamery raw milk
3/8 tsp MM100
1/16 tsp Thermo
1/16 tsp LH
1/16 tsp Geo
1/16 tsp SR3
1/16 tsp P. Candidum
1/32 tsp KL71
1/32 tsp dry calf rennet

2:30PM pH 6.78 Added cultures to cold milk, began heating
3:30PM pH 6.72 @78.8F

4:10PM pH 6.61 @85F
4:35PM pH 6.55 @86.5F

5:10PM pH 6.50 @88F
Dissolved rennet in cold distilled water.
Stirred into milk.

5:26PM Flocculation in 16min
Using multiplier of 5 because I want it gooey.
Time to cut is in 80 min. ~6:45PM

6:45PM My meter says pH 5.45...oh, ExStick, are you playing with me?
Cut to 1 inch pieces.

Rest for 15 min.

7:05PM pH 5.97 - After cutting and whisking to hazelnut size - whey is milky with bits of milkfat.

Scalded to 92F, stirred for 15 min.

Drained 1 gal of whey for use in whey-brine later. (2 cups salt to 1/2 gal whey.)

Filled four small Kadova molds.
Pressed with gallon of whey on top of four molds for 10 min.
Flipped cheeses in molds and pressed for 10 more minutes.

Put Kadova molds in pot and pressed overnight with 5 lb weight.

June 30:
5:00AM Removed weight but kept cheeses in molds inside pot with lid on.
4:30PM Removed cheeses from molds and replaced in pot.
Added whey-brine to pot.
5:30PM Flipped cheeses in pot.
6:30PM Out of brine; dried cheeses, placed in minicave and into cave.
11:00PM 52.1F/94%RH

July 1:
5:00AM 52.1F/96%RH

I realize the Kadova molds are a bit smaller than regulation Reblochon molds, but I think they will be okay for this effort.
The knit turned out pretty fair because of the netting in the mold.