Author Topic: NY Yancey's Fancy's Bergenost Brand Cheese Making Recipe  (Read 2645 times)

DeepSix

NY Yancey's Fancy's Bergenost Brand Cheese Making Recipe
« on: July 08, 2011, 12:48:28 AM »
I posted something similar to this a while back and didn't get a response so I though I would try again and maybe explain myself better.

I'm not a cheese expert so I don't know how to compare cheese qualities very well.  I've been buying and trying a lot of cheese lately to try to get a better handle on it.  I'm getting them from everywhere ranging from Saturday Markets to Costco...  I understand if this is not the place to espouse one's love for a national brand but I need some help.

I tried a cheese from a company called Yancey's Fancy called Bergenost.  I don't think it is the most amazing thing ever, but I love the consistency and basic flavor.  It is a little bit sharp and has a soft, almost spreadable texture.  I have looked around and cannot find any information on this as a type of cheese so I have two questions:

1) Is this an actual type of cheese or something the company made up?

2) Does anyone have a recipe suggestion to product something similar?

Thoughts anyone?

Thanks,

Jason

Cheese Head

Re: NY Yancey's Fancy's Bergenost Brand Cheese Making Recipe
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2011, 01:46:01 AM »
Hi DeepSix/Jason

I searched on internet and see that Yancey's Fancy is a Corfu, New York State, USA based artisan cheese maker and that Bergenost is one of their products.

QUESTION 1
I could find no other reference to that named cheese so assume it is their own brand name, Wikipedia says the same.

QUESTION 2