Author Topic: Morbier  (Read 7921 times)

Tea

Morbier
« on: July 16, 2011, 08:05:08 PM »
I decided that I wanted to give a morbier a go, so I have used the recipe below for this cheese.  I added pc as I am not going to do a smear, (not appreciated in my house at all) and then I though maybe a wash with wine/spirits to arrest the mould grow.  Not sure yet what course of action I will take.  My apologies to the purest's of this cheese, but I decided that I wanted to have a play and try something different.

http://cheeseforum.org/forum/index.php/topic,1146.0.html

Any help or advice on how to proceed would be much appreciated.

The pics show the cheese after brining, just before going into the fridge.  It is now in a seperate container, and I am hoping that the mould will start growing.

Was surprised me, considering this is my first attempt, that I didn't get more ash everywhere.  So please with that, although I did get a thin line all around the cheese.

darius

Re: Morbier
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2011, 08:19:42 PM »
Man, that looks wonderful!

Offline Gürkan Yeniçeri

• The one who masters temperature and humidity can make any cheese.
  • Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 36
  • It's not a hobby, it's an addiction, a good one.
    • Artizan Peynirci
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2011, 10:49:32 PM »
Good one Tea,

My problem is washing it with B. Linens. And also the low WAF if it smells like... well you know. I will be attempting this recipe next week.

Do you think the B. Linens can be added to milk rather than spraying it? Would there be any difference to aroma?

dttorun

« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2011, 11:14:05 AM »
Gürkan is right. You need to spay lighly salted b.linen a couple of times 2-3 days apart.
Tan

Helen

« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2011, 02:36:35 PM »
Tea,

Your cheese looks gorgeous. However, I am a bit surprise to hear of a Morbier without b.linens rind :)

Looking forward to more pictures!

Tea

« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2011, 07:34:43 PM »