Author Topic: Making my first starter  (Read 2786 times)

maykalteyt

Making my first starter
« on: August 17, 2011, 03:22:48 AM »
Hello!

I'm a newbie to the world of cheeses and so far I've just made a few simple soft cheeses like penir and queso blanco. Now I want to move on to some cheeses which use cultures and rennet. Fortunately I've managed to get some rennet and one packet of mesophilic culture (hard to get hold of here).

The instructions in the book I have say to use skimmed milk, pasturise it, leave to cool, add the culture, close the lid, leave at a warm room temperature until it coagulates into a yoghurt-like substance, about 15-24 hours.

Can you use shop-bought pasturised skimmed milk or do you have to use raw milk and do it yourself?

Thank you.

linuxboy

Re: Making my first starter
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2011, 03:32:53 AM »

maykalteyt

« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2011, 04:02:46 AM »
Thanks linuxboy!

What's the purpose of heating the milk if it's shop-bought and already pasturised? Could the  culture be added directly to sterilized milk? I had assumed that this stage was only applicable if using raw milk in order to ensure that only the added culture went to work on the starter (like adding a Campden tablet to apple juice or pasturizing honey before pitching the yeast), but of course, I'm a complete newbie :)

linuxboy

« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2011, 04:46:07 AM »
purpose of heating the milk if it's shop-bought and already pasturised?
To bring it up to the proper temp conducive to bacterial growth. I assume you mean heating to normal temps, not sterilization temps?
Could the  culture be added directly to sterilized milk?
Yes, provided that the milk has been cooled down to the right temp.
I had assumed that this stage was only applicable if using raw milk in order to ensure that only the added culture went to work on the starter (like adding a Campden tablet to apple juice or pasturizing honey before pitching the yeast)