Author Topic: Chaource - when to add rennet, what starters to try.  (Read 1481 times)

Judi

Chaource - when to add rennet, what starters to try.
« on: September 13, 2011, 04:30:56 PM »
Hi

I'm new to Chaource and have a supply of unpasteurised cow's milk.  I've seen several recipes for this kind of cheese and they vary in how much rennet to add (from one drop per gallon to about 2 ml per gallon) and whether to add the starter and the rennet at the same time, or to ripen the milk overnight before adding rennet and leaving it to coagulate.  Any thoughts on which would work best and why?  My first thought is that I should follow the acidity development with a TA titration until it gets to about 50 degrees dornic, then add rennet.

Also at the moment I am working with Choozit MA400 and P. candidum.  If the batch goes well, I'd like to refine the starters and am interested to know what you think I should be using.  PLA?  Flora danica?  All advice gratefully received.

thanks
Judi

Cheese Head

Re: Chaource - when to add rennet, what starters to try.
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2011, 10:32:00 PM »
Hi Judi

Adding a very little amount of rennet will mean that you need to rely primarily on getting a lactic acid curd (commonly used when making higher water content cheeses), adding a lot means you are making a rennet coagulated curd (commonly used when making lower water content cheeses). It depends what you are trying to make, see Wiki: Coagulation for more info on coagulation methods.

Ripening overnight without adding a starter culture I think would only be good for raw milk where you are encouraging the native flora to build and acidify the milk, in which case you could go without a starter culture. Doing this with pasteurized milk could result in unwanted microorganism growth.