Author Topic: Coagulation, Lactic, Semi - Poor Coagulation @ 12 Hours  (Read 2766 times)

Delaney

Coagulation, Lactic, Semi - Poor Coagulation @ 12 Hours
« on: October 21, 2011, 03:51:44 PM »
Hi,

I'm a beginner at cheese making. Please excuse my ignorance, and steer me in the right direction...

I attempted making cheese for the first time last night with 4L of 3.25% pasteurized goat's milk. My first problem was that a friend accidentally dripped nasty dish water INTO my milk, shortly after I added my culture. I decided to re-pasteurize the milk, and ladle off the top layer so as to get rid of any soap residue... :S

I then cooled the milk to 80F, and added culture again. I added 1/5 of a drop of rennet, as per the instructions on the recipe I was using. I checked on the milk 12 hours later and there is no coagulation whatsoever.

I am using Abiasa rennet. The instructions on the rennet say to add 5 drops/liter...which means I would have needed 20 drops, not 1/5th of a drop....

Another problem is that I did not have non-chlorinated water, so I added the rennet directly into the milk.

Can I salvage this and make cheese still??? Should I add more rennet, dissolving it in water first?

Sailor Con Queso

Re: Coagulation, Lactic, Semi - Poor Coagulation @ 12 Hours
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2011, 06:02:20 PM »
You definitely needed to add more rennet. I would pitch this one and try again.

What kind of cheese were you trying to make? Post your recipe and we'll help you before you start again.

Delaney

« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2011, 07:32:45 PM »
Firstly, my culture was Abiasa mesophile aromatic type B (Lc. lactis + Lc. cremoris + Sc. diacetylactis + Ln. cremoris)

This is the recipe I followed:
http://fiascofarm.com/dairy/chevre.htm

Note that a very small amount of this dirty dish water actually did get into the milk...I'm not too worried about that unless it affects fermentation, especially given I re-pasteurized the milk.