Author Topic: Newbie questioning my homemade press...  (Read 11762 times)

Storm256

Newbie questioning my homemade press...
« on: October 14, 2011, 11:31:03 PM »
I am a newbie to the world of cheesemaking and as usual rushed headlong into a new project without doing quite as much research as I should have.  I am planning to graduate from the soft/fresh cheese making to to Cheddars and Goudas and the like.  So I built a press.... sadly now as I have taken the time to read several of the posts here it has become obvious the press of choice is a Dutch style not the direct pressure type I built.  I guess my question to you folks is should I try to use this press for say Farmhouse Cheddar or maybe Gouda or scrap it and start over with a Dutch press.  Part of my concern comes from the discussions about the hundreds of pounds of pressure being exerted by some of these presses, makes the 100-125 lbs of weight on my press seem downright insignificant!  The "mold" in the picture is a stainless container I cutoff and drilled for drainage its about 8" inches tall for reference.

Cloversmilker

Re: Newbie questioning my homemade press...
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2011, 03:37:11 AM »
That looks like a nice press. Go ahead and try it out on a Gouda or a Jack or .... You can always make a Dutch press later.  Experimenting with this press will help you figure out what you want in your next press.   ;)

Tomer1

« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2011, 11:41:29 AM »
It can certainly work for semi hard cheeses tomme,gouda,jack,havarti,swiss...
However for cheddar you need a dutch press or build a ramp so a car can drive over the top of your press :P

Offline fied

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 6
  • Default personal text
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2011, 12:33:16 PM »
Nice looking press. I've one similar, but yours is well made - much better than my effort.