Author Topic: Cave, Sauna - Using To Make Or Ripen Cheese > Swiss Cheese Making History  (Read 2513 times)

Saidwyn

This will not be your typical question: I'm doing a little research for a story I'm writing for a class, involving a sauna being turned into a "cheese incubator". As I've been reading about cheese-making, I found that for instance blue cheese is generally aged at a lower temperature... Are there any cheeses that favor a 90-110F environment (I know this works for yoghurt)? If someone turned a sauna into a "cheese incubator", are there any potential issues, like cheese contaminating each other or high humidity, that you would foresee?

I've never made cheese myself (I'm still a student and haven't found the time... or space), although I've made yoghurt and beer. Anyways, I thought this would be fun to write a short story on, so if anyone can give me some feedback or pointers, it's much appreciated!

MrsKK

I've never heard of any cheeses that would tolerate that high of a temperature, outside of the initial make.  Sorry!

Tomer1

Labane balls in olive oil (or any oil which doesnt go rancid quickly) can be kept in the heat without spoilage because their acidity is high , their moisture content is faily low (like thick cream cheese because of long draining),they are salted and the oil helps prevents oxidation and mold\yeast spoilage.

Anything alse will simply rot, there is a grana type rotten cheese in one of the italian islands infested with fly larva which is considered a delicacy.  Its aged in the heat of summer which may be as high as 35-40c.

Offline Boofer

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 344
  • Contemplating cheese
I would also be concerned with the other "flora" naturally present in a sauna.  :o  ::)

Nope, all around bad idea.

-Boofer-
Let's ferment something!
Bread, beer, wine, cheese...it's all good.

iratherfly