Author Topic: pH Meter - Recommendation?  (Read 6092 times)

aceddu

pH Meter - Recommendation?
« on: July 12, 2009, 01:31:10 AM »
Hello to everyone! Before I go any further,I'd like to say "thanks" to all.On this site I have found answers to many questions I've had regarding cheese,and the equipment required to create it,and the thoughts/ideas that lead me in new directions.I am new to this site,but not new to cheese making.I have been making cheese for a few years,and have been doing so without the use of the technology available to me.Which leads me to the reason for this post...I am interested in finding a utensil that would perform well in both cheese making and the process of making salumi(cured meats).I am curious as to how well(accurate)the ph strips would work vs. the low-cost ph meter...vs. the higher priced ph meters.
Anybody have any opinions to share,pros/cons of both...working with both cheese and meats? I'm looking forward to the responses.
  Thanks...Mike

wharris

Re: pH Meter - Recommendation?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2009, 03:29:34 AM »
The main difference I have found between the strips and any meters is raw accuracy. The strips just are not that acccurate.
the el-cheapo pH meters are way ahead of the strips in accuracy, but I have two problems with them.
1> not accurate enough to produce consistant results, in that they will typically measure out to the tenths of a pH. (good ones will give you another decimal.) (why?  I stop cooking my cheddar at pH 6.15.   not 6.1 or 6.2)
2>They will break easily and soon.  I went through 2 el-cheapos prior to getting my current rig.

My current pH meter will measure the pH of my cheesemilk, my curds, my finished cheese, my wine, my spit,  and I would have to assume your cured meats   ;D

I use this pH meter. Extech EXSTIK PH110

You can find a discussion of this, and other pH meters here.

Good Luck.

clherestian

« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2009, 08:35:29 PM »
Wayne -