Author Topic: Sheep milk Reblochon  (Read 3653 times)

elkato

Sheep milk Reblochon
« on: November 11, 2011, 05:04:15 PM »
This is my first attempt at a washed rind cheese, I followed Boofer's recipe and the make went as follows:
Reblochon Nov 9
3 gal Frisian sheep milk pasteurized 15 sec. at 161F (going to use raw milk next time)
waited to get to 89f
Added Sacco 032 culture and a microtad of ms 064 cp and Sacco geothichium  waited 60min.
floc. time=13min x 5= 65min.
cut 1in cubes rest 15min.
whisk into hazelnut size
rise temp to 92f slowly
rest curds 15 min.
fill molds, got 5 wheels 5inch.x1inch and 1Pound each
flipped and re-dresed at 10 min with 5 pound weight
left 6 hr. with 5pound weight
left 8hr. inside mold without weight or follower
left 2hr in whey/brine 1gal whey/ 4 cups salt. flipped at 1 hr.
left to air dry for 5hr.
put inside Tupperware box on top of mat and into 50f cave

Now my question,
I didn't have b.Linnens at the make, it will arrive Monday (4 days after the make) so I will have to apply it in the washings with the 2% brine, so how exactly should I do these washes? what are the amounts of water/salt for 2%? do I start washing without BL? can you recommend something I else I probably missed?
I will update the results of the progress of the wheels, and thank you in advance!

DNM

Re: Sheep milk Reblochon
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2011, 04:21:43 PM »
I'm new here and have been making reblochon cheeses for a few weeks, with the help of some of CF's cheese gurus' posts.  I am wondering how your reblochons are coming along.  Here is a picture of ours aging. 

« Last Edit: November 29, 2011, 04:34:27 PM by MaryP »

Offline Boofer

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 344
  • Contemplating cheese
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2011, 06:41:38 PM »
Elkato: I'm sorry...it looks like your posting fell through the cracks and no one responded.  :(