Author Topic: Waxed Rind - Mouse Chewed Through, Now What?  (Read 1991 times)

GlennK

Waxed Rind - Mouse Chewed Through, Now What?
« on: November 18, 2011, 05:59:43 PM »
Hi everybody!
CF newbie here.  I found a problem with my just made batch of farmhouse cheddar that I don't know what to do with.  I made 2 pounds of farmhouse cheddar 20 days ago.  Yesterday I moved it to the basement because it's cooler there.  Today I went to flip it and I see a mouse (or something) chewed a 1cm wide (and 1cm deep) hole in the side of it.  What should I do at this point?  DW thinks I should throw the whole thing out.  I was thinking I would take off the top 2 inches (the hole is in the edge), rewax and not keep it in the basement anymore.  Any suggestions?

linuxboy

Re: Waxed Rind - Mouse Chewed Through, Now What?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2011, 06:06:41 PM »
cut off and around the eaten area, rewax. Why throw the whole thing out when a small piece is affected?

Tomer1

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2011, 11:50:15 PM »
And the mouse will just come again and have another go.
You need to put it in some kind of box maybe where he cant reach it.

GlennK

« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2011, 12:21:17 AM »
I'm going to cut out the bite mark, rewax, and put in a larger plastic tote with a cover.  I think that should keep out the mouse.

GlennK

« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2011, 01:12:59 AM »
No problems with the rewax.  The cheese is coming along well too!  The texture seems right and it tastes like I imagine a 3 week old cheddar should.

Leasa

« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2011, 04:52:29 AM »
hi Glennk

I had the same thing happen to me.  The big bush rats we have up here got in to the house (shock Horror) and ate a big wedge out of my farmhouse cheddar when it was at the drying stage.