Author Topic: chevre from powdered goat milk and intro  (Read 1843 times)

sd1951

chevre from powdered goat milk and intro
« on: November 19, 2011, 07:58:43 PM »
Hello everyone
I am new to this cheese making process.  I have done simple cheeses in the past Queso Fresco, drained yogurt, that sort of thing.  I have recently been trying my hand at rennet cheeses, mostly cheddar type, making and technique has gone quite well, taste still to be determined, will find out in a couple of more months.

I am looking to make chevre, but I do not have access to fresh goats milk.  There are a couple of farms I can go to but it is illegal to sell raw milk and the goats milk at the market is ultra-pasturized.  My question is can I use goat milk powder.  My local store sells it in the organic section both whole and non fat.

If I can use it what kind of water should I use for reconstitution, bottled, distilled, de-ionized (our tap water has a lot of chlorine, smells like a swimming pool in the summer)

I thank everyone in advance for your help

linuxboy

Re: chevre from powdered goat milk and intro
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2011, 11:59:46 PM »
goats milk at the market is ultra-pasturized.
This works fine for chevre.

dttorun

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2011, 12:13:37 PM »
Last week I tried to make goat blue cheese and got a gallon of 3.8% goat's milk. Even after 5 hrs it did not coagulate. I heated up to 180F and added vineger to salvage it but even this did not work. I checked the bag, it did not say `homogenized` and I was thinking it is because of pastaurization...

iratherfly

« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2011, 08:54:02 PM »