Author Topic: Mozzarella - Increasing Flavor  (Read 1937 times)

akhalpin

Mozzarella - Increasing Flavor
« on: September 03, 2012, 07:46:16 PM »
I have made a couple of batches of Mozzarella cheese that I am reasonably pleased with in regards to texture but they just don't have the flavor I would like.  Yes, they tasted like Mozzarella but very mild.

I am using a recipe from Fiasco Farms (they have great pictures which helps me since I am brand new to this) but am altering it slightly by using half skim milk and half whole milk (one reason I am making Mozzarella is to use up my skim milk from making butter) instead of all whole milk.

I am using 1/4 tsp of LH (lactoacillus helveticus) and 1/4 tsp. calf lipase for 3 gallons of milk.  I also add citric acid (4 tsp). 

Here are the basic instructions I am following:
-warm milk to 91
-add culture and ripen 1 hour
-add rennet and let set 15 minutes or until clean break
- cut curds, let rest, keep at 91 for an hour or so, stirring occasionally for first half hour (recipe says you can raise temperature to make a dryer cheese but my cheese is dry enough so I don't)
-drain for 3-4 hours
- work the curd or refridgerate and work the next day (I have been working it the next day)

What can I do to increase flavor? 

Allyson H.

Sailor Con Queso

Re: Mozzarella - Increasing Flavor
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2012, 01:51:57 PM »
Your make needs a TA style culture with Strep. thermophilus. This is the primary thermo acidifier. You should not be adding citric acid to a cultured Mozz. Let the bacteria do their thing.

15 minutes is not enough time for coagulation. Search on flocculation.

soleuy

« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2012, 12:40:43 PM »