Author Topic: Shelf life of starter cultures  (Read 3417 times)

adalton

Shelf life of starter cultures
« on: January 05, 2012, 04:01:17 AM »
Does anyone know how long mesophilic and thermophilic cultures will last.  I have some in my freezer that maybe older than a year.  They have always stayed in the freezer.  Also,  how can you tell if they are not good and what are the consequences if used? 

Andy

Offline MacGruff

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 23
  • Default personal text
Re: Shelf life of starter cultures
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2012, 12:58:54 AM »
I have no direct experience, but all the readings I've done stated that they should last "at least one year, if stored in the freezer." I guess if I was in your shoes, that I would buy new ones...     ???

JeffHamm

« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2012, 01:10:24 AM »
Hi Cheesemkr,

To find out if they are still "good", try this.  Buy a 1 litre box of "UHT" skim milk.  This isn't much good for making hard cheese, but it's great for making "culture cubes".  It's also sterile.  So, open it, and put a few grains of your culture in it.  If it's a meso culture, just close the UHT loosely so there's air exchange, and leave it out at room temp (22 C type thing) for 24 hours.  For a thermo, put it in a warmer spot (I put it in the closet on top of our hot water cyllendar).  If it's good, then after 24 hours it should have thickened into a yogurt like consistency.  You can then pour this into ice cube trays (you'll get about 40 cubes) and freeze them.  I then keep them in zip lock type freezer bags.  When you go to make a cheese, you can add these cubes instead (I use 2 or 3 in a 10 litre make).