Author Topic: Wax - Mold Underneath, Causes & Solutions  (Read 1885 times)

lynns

Wax - Mold Underneath, Causes & Solutions
« on: January 21, 2012, 05:17:31 PM »
hi - i am new to cheesemaking.  i have been making farmhouse cheddar, pressed, air dried, waxed, and aging in my root cellar.  yesterday i cut into 1 month old farmhouse cheddar.  good smell and taste, just starting to obtain the cheddar taste.  i removed all the wax to slice it and found mold on the inside of the wax and the cheese.  please help - what went wrong?  thanks.

zenith1

Re: Wax - Mold Underneath, Causes & Solutions
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2012, 05:39:12 PM »
Hi Lynns- it is very difficult to not wind up with some pinholes in your wax. Pinhole=route for contamination. When you wax your wheels do you apply more than 1 coat?If I where going that route I would use two coats in the minimum. I would say that is the route of your problem. Waxing can be done successfully with care. You can cut off the offending area/wipe your wheel down with  brine or white vinegar, air dry at RT and re-wax to continue aging if you wish.

lynns

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2012, 06:34:49 PM »
thanks keith.  i guess i need to check all the wheels just to make sure.  i brushed 2 coats of wax to each.  maybe i should dip several times in lieu of brushing? 

zenith1

« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2012, 07:11:24 PM »
sometimes works better, but really is a matter of personal choice. When I waxed in the past I dipped the wheel in the wax-usually two coats.

JeffHamm

« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2012, 06:36:58 AM »
Hi lynns,